Jacob Fitzgerald is a British composer of experimental, classical and electronic music based in Cambridge, Manchester and Hereford.

Starting his musical life as a chorister, and subsequently head chorister at Jesus College, Cambridge, since then Jacob has gone on to study composition and violin at Aldeburgh Young Musicians in Suffolk and Chetham’s School of Music in Manchester.


Jacob is currently continuing his composition studies with Dr Jeremy Pike and Ian Stephens, and has previously been taught by Dr James Olsen and Douglas Mason. He has received masterclasses from composers including Charlotte Bray, John Woolrich, Simone Fontanelli and Mark Simpson and in August will begin mentorship under the guidance of pianist and composer Huw Watkins.


Writing for a wide variety of settings, Jacob has had his work performed and commissioned by ensembles including the Ligeti Quartet, the Brodsky Quartet, the Phaedra Ensemble, Dr K Sextet, Prime Brass and by violist Graham Oppenheimer, in venues ranging from the Stoller Hall to a disused pump station in Suffolk. Recent performances include a multimedia graphic score Letter of Request for Reconnection of Service, performed by the Hermes Experiment and the Gesualdo Six as part of the London Sound Gallery concert series. Jacob was also the recent recipient of first prize as winner of the CSA David Willcocks Composition Competition, 2020.


As a performer, Jacob studied violin with Simon Cartledge and currently studies with Benedict Holland, leader of the Psappha Ensemble. As a baritone he is currently under the tutelage of Marcus Farnsworth, and in August 2021 is taking up the bass choral scholarship at Hereford Cathedral. During his time at Hereford, Jacob will also continue his role as a typesetter and engraver at Olsen Verlag, an independent music publishing company based in Ely, Cambridge, where he began working in August, 2020.


2020 also saw the release of Jacob’s debut EP this is not a drill, a collection of ambient electronic music available on CD and for download on all streaming services.


“Jacob is certainly a young composer to look out for in the future” 

Andy Tyler

Spotify and SoundCloud



Any questions regarding concert dates, commissions or teaching?

Please don't hesitate to get in touch.

147 High St. 


CB22 7QD
United Kingdom

+44 (0)7555 323798

  • Instagram
  • Facebook
  • apple music
  • Spotify
  • SoundCloud